Overview of Driver's License Suspension
Michigan DUI Attorney
In Michigan, driving is a privilege, not a right. Therefore, having a driver's license is not a promise and it is not permanent if you have received it. Due to the state's strong stance against alcohol offenses on the road, the penalties associated with driving under the influence are severe. In fact, if you have been criminally charged with a first time offense of an
OWI, you will find that your driver's license will be suspended for thirty days. Once that has been completed, you will then find yourself facing over 150 days of restrictions.
This will only increase with subsequent convictions and increased charges. If, for instance, you are convicted of driving a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration over 0.17%, your driver's license suspension will last for a year. After 45 days, however, you will be eligible to have a restricted license if you opt to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
Michigan OWI Lawyer Protecting Your Rights
At Freedman Law Group, we have extensive experience handling OWI/DUI cases. We know the nuances that surround these cases and we recognize the complications that can arise. Should you choose to work with our Michigan DUI lawyer, you can be confident knowing you will have an advocate on your side that is fully prepared to go the distance in their efforts to help you. Regardless of the circumstances, we will put forth the same effort in our fight to get you the best possible outcome we can. We know the tricks of the trade and you can trust that we will fight for you.
Contact our Michigan OWI lawyer to get started!