The state senate recently passed a bill that makes texting while driving a primary offense. The bill now moves to the state of House of Representatives for another vote.
If the bill passes, texting while driving would carry a $100 fine for a first offense and a $200 fine for a second or subsequent offense.
The bill could become law as soon as July 1 of this year.
Under current Michigan law, texting while driving is a secondary offense, which means police cannot ticket a driver for texting unless the driver committed another traffic offense.
State Sen. Raymond Basham (D-Taylor) said the purpose of the legislation isn't to punish drivers, but to fix the texting while driving problem in Michigan.
If you received a traffic citation for texting while driving in connection with another traffic offense, a Michigan traffic ticket lawyer at the Law Offices of Freedman & Freedman can help you fight your ticket. Although a traffic citation will not result in jail or prison, it can lead to increased insurance rates and points will be assessed to your driving record. After you've accumulated a certain amount of points on your record, your driver's license will be suspended.
Do not take any chances. Contact a traffic ticket attorney at Freedman & Freedman today to help you fight your citation and reduce your chances of losing your license.