Be Sure to Get Insured!

All drivers in the state of Michigan are required to have a valid auto insurance policy. At minimum you must have liability insurance, which includes $20,000 coverage for 1 person, $40,000 for bodily injury, and $10,000 for property damage.

Not only must you purchase auto insurance, but you must also carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. Any time you are pulled over for a traffic offense you will need to give the officer proof of insurance. Failure to have insurance can result in a $200 fine. Sometimes the police won’t ticket a driver if the driver has an auto insurance policy, but simply doesn’t have proof of insurance with them. Other times, if an officer is in a bad mood or they just don’t like you they’ll give you a ticket for failing to have proof of insurance.

Driving without having a valid insurance policy is an actual criminal offense, which means you will need to contact an experienced Michigan traffic ticket attorney. At the Law Offices of Freedman & Freedman, we can provide you with much needed advice and guidance during this time and can help you challenge your ticket/charges. If you are interested in learning more about the dedicated representation you can receive at Freedman & Freedman, please contact the office today by calling 1 (877) TKT-LAWS!