In Michigan, if a person chooses to drive on a suspended license, they may be facing a misdemeanor charge. This is only if it is a first time offense and there is not an accident involved. The penalties of the misdemeanor offense include up to 93 days in prison and a fine of up to $500. Generally, this offense does not involve incarceration in Michigan. If it is not the first time the person has driven on a suspended license, the consequences may be more severe. A second offense of driving while your license is suspended is punishable by up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $1,000. Incarceration is not commonly ordered in Michigan courts for repeat Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) offenders. Driving while your license is suspended increases in penalties if there is an accident involved during the offense.
If you have been arrested for driving on a suspended license and being involved in an accident, you may be facing felony charges. If another person is seriously injured in the accident, your felony offense may be punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of between $1,000 and $5,000. If another person is killed in the accident, you may be facing up to 15 years in prison and a fine of between $2,500 and $10,000.
In order to fight against a DWLS charge, you need to team up with a skilled Michigan DUI attorney who is familiar with this process. Our firm may be able to negotiate with the prosecutor in court to have your DWLS charge reduced to a "No-Ops." This lower offense is zero points on your record and does not involve Driver's Responsibility fees or further license suspension. For help with your DWLS case, contact a Michigan OWI attorney at Law Offices of Freedman & Freedman. Call today to schedule your free case evaluation!