First Time DUI
Michigan OWI Lawyer
Nothing is more earth-shattering than being arrested and charged with drunk
driving for the first time. Between the initial police stop, the
field sobriety test, the blood or breath test, the arrest, and being processed and put in
jail, first time
OWI/DUI offenders quickly lose themselves in the criminal process. If you
have been charged with DUI for the first time, or if someone you care
about was just arrested for the very first time, we can help.
While it is true that many first time DUI offenders are terrified after
their arrest, others go to the other extreme and pass their DUI charges
off as being insignificant and refuse to hire a
Michigan criminal defense attorney. While it's important to keep relatively calm when charged with DUI
for the first time, it's also necessary to realize the seriousness
of the situation because by neglecting to do so, you are likely to deny
yourself the legal help needed to ensure your whole life isn't turned
upside down by your first time OWI/DUI charges. The penalties for first
time OWI/DUI are not as harsh as those for
multiple DUI offenses, however they can be significant and life-changing which is why you will need a
Michigan DUI lawyer representing you.
Charged with a first DUI? Let us help!
After being arrested, a first time DUI offender will be required to remain
in jail for 4 to 24 hours, depending upon their blood alcohol level. They
will then be arraigned to determine bond (if any). First time DUI offenders
could face the following penalties if convicted: $100-$500 in fines, up
to 93 days in jail, up to 45 days of community service, substance abuse
screening, rehabilitation (at the expense of the defendant), and
driver's license suspension. The degrees of the before mentioned penalties will depend upon the defendant's
BAC (blood alcohol concentration) and the skills of their attorney.
Contact a Michigan OWI lawyer from our office today!