Michigan Hit and Run Attorney
Charged with leaving the scene of an accident?
Michigan drivers have the legal obligation to stop at the scene of any auto accident in which they are involved. The failure to stop is actually a serious criminal offense. Commonly called hit and run, leaving the scene of an accident may be a misdemeanor or a felony traffic violation under Michigan law.
Contact a Michigan criminal defense attorney from Freedman Law Group immediately if you or someone you know has been accused of involvement in a hit and run. We offer a free initial consultation to help you get started. When you talk to a Michigan traffic ticket lawyer at our firm, you will get the honest, straightforward advice you need to make the right decision about your case and legal counsel.
About Michigan Hit and Run Charges
When a driver is involved in an auto accident that causes any amount of property damage or injury to another person, he or she is required by law to stop and exchange information with any other parties involved. As soon as is safely possible, the driver should stop and exchange information, and render medical assistance (usually by calling 911). The information exchanged should include:
- Name and address
- Insurance information
- Driver's license number
- Vehicle registration number
A hit and run causing injury to another person may result in misdemeanor charges and up to 1 year in prison as well as up to $1,000 in fines if convicted. Leaving the scene of an accident causing serious bodily injury or death is a felony offense. A conviction may result in up to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. Take immediate action to avoid serious imprisonment and heavy fines. Contact a Michigan traffic ticket attorney at Freedman Law Group today for a free consultation.